Public speaking : an introduction

Public speaking is as old as history. We find traces of it as far as Greece, at the time when it was the birthplace of democracy.

There are only two types of speakers in the world. 1. The nervous and 2. Liars.

This “art” or practice goes back a long way in human history, yet there nothing more current and modern. Speaking in a meeting in front of colleagues to present your recent activity or to defend a proposal, making a toast with the family, contributing to the debate during an association meeting, passing an interview… All this belongs to public speaking.

The opportunities are endless and sometimes the stakes can be high. And we are all struggling with this exercise. We find it more or less difficult and we are and more or less able to pretend. But we all face difficulty there.

Toastmasters, which I discovered late in 2014, allows club members to practice speaking in public, to progress both thanks to the educational paths “Pathways” developed and offered by Toastmasters International and thanks to the to interactions with others. Seeing seasoned speakers do their thing, imitating them or getting inspiration from them, seeing beginners struggle, measuring the progress you have made, helping beginners to progress and progress also by doing it.

This is the Toastmasters experience … or at least the beginning of the experience.

You quickly discover that the Toastmasters universe is percolated with the notion of “leadership” and quickly realize that the two notions are intimately linked.

When you want to speak in public, it’s never to explain brilliantly that you have nothing to say. When we speak in front of an audience, it is necessarily to bring something … fun, inspiration, ideas, awareness, desire for change…

It cannot be nothing!

Hence speaking necessarily has a motivation (whether conscious or not). The desire to have an impact (no matter if it is a big or a small impact) on the world. The desire to induce something, to inspire a change, to improve the world around us a least a little bit.

And this ability to influence (even a little) the world and the people around us is what I found most accurate to describe the idea of leadership.

An entrepreneur who starts up an initiative to reduce global warming is a leader, but a storyteller who helps his audience to escape from reality for a few moments is also a leader, a friend who alleviates your pain with his words is also a leader, parents who inspire their children and give them human values ​​or a teacher who communicates the desire to learn and progress are just as much leaders.

And our world needs leaders and speakers more than ever to inspire change …

Privacy Preference Center

    Necessary

    These are necessary and used by the website

    gdprprivacy_bar,gdpr[allowed_cookies],gdpr[consent_types],wordpress_logged_in_913e0b76356072356dca8e49ec185d60,wordpress_sec_913e0b76356072356dca8e49ec185d60,wordpress_test_cookie,wp-settings-time-1,wptouch_customizer_mode

    Advertising

    We don't use advertising. So there are no cookies there.

    Analytics

    These cookies are used to get statistics on website use. The analytics solution used is a self-hosted Matomo (No google Analytics or other intrusive tracker).
    Please keep it active to help us improve site content.

    matomo

    Other

Découvrir la prise de parole en public

L’art oratoire, ou celui de parler en public est aussi ancien que l’histoire. On en trouve les traces jusqu’en Grèce, à l’époque où elle fut le berceau de la démocratie.

Il n’y a que deux types d’orateurs dans le monde. 1. Ceux qui sont mal à l’aise et 2. les menteurs.

Cet « art » ou cette pratique remonte à loin dans l’histoire humaine, pour autant il n’est rien de plus actuel et moderne. Parler en réunion devant des collègues pour faire le bilan de son activité récente ou pour défendre une proposition, porter un toast en famille, apporter sa contribution au débat lors d’une réunion associative, réussir une interview…

Les occasions sont innombrables et parfois les enjeux très importants. Et nous sommes tous dans la difficulté face à cet exercice. Plus ou moins en difficulté et plus ou moins capables de donner le change. Mais dans la difficulté.

Toastmasters, que j’ai découvert tardivement en 2014, permet de s’exercer à la prise de parole en public, de progresser à la fois grâce aux parcours éducatifs « Pathways » mis au point et proposés par Toastmasters International et aux interactions avec les autres. Voir de meilleurs que soi faire, les imiter ou s’en inspirer, voir de moins bons que soi s’essayer à l’exercice, mesurer le chemin parcouru, les aider à progresser et progresser soi-même en le faisant.

C’est ça l’expérience Toastmasters… ou en tout cas le début de l’expérience.

On découvre assez vite que l’univers Toastmasters est baigné de la notion de « leadership » et on réalise assez vite que les deux notions sont intimement liées.

Quand on souhaite parler en public, ça n’est jamais pour expliquer avec brio que l’on a rien à dire. Quand on parle devant un public, c’est pour apporter quelque chose… de l’amusement, des idées, des prises de conscience, des envies de changement…

La prise de parole a forcément une motivation (consciente ou non). L’envie d’avoir un impact (petit ou grand peu importe) sur le monde. L’envie de provoquer quelque chose, d’induire un changement, de faire évoluer un peu le monde qui nous entoure.

Et cette capacité d’influer (même un peu) sur le monde et les gens qui nous entourent, c’est ce que j’ai pu trouver de plus parlant pour décrire la notion de leadership.

Un entrepreneur qui lance une startup pour réduire le réchauffement climatique et un leader, mais un conteur qui aide son auditoire à s’évader est aussi un leader, un ami qui avec ses mots allège votre peine est également un leader, des parents qui inspirent leurs enfants et leur donnent des valeurs humaines ou un enseignant qui communique l’envie d’apprendre et de progresser sont tout autant des leaders.

Et notre monde a plus que jamais besoin de leaders et d’orateurs pour inspirer le changement…

Centre de préférences de confidentialité

    Necessary

    These are necessary and used by the website

    gdprprivacy_bar,gdpr[allowed_cookies],gdpr[consent_types],wordpress_logged_in_913e0b76356072356dca8e49ec185d60,wordpress_sec_913e0b76356072356dca8e49ec185d60,wordpress_test_cookie,wp-settings-time-1,wptouch_customizer_mode

    Advertising

    We don't use advertising. So there are no cookies there.

    Analytics

    These cookies are used to get statistics on website use. The analytics solution used is a self-hosted Matomo (No google Analytics or other intrusive tracker).
    Please keep it active to help us improve site content.

    matomo

    Other